English Pусский Roman
<< Back


Izmir (formerly Smyrne, Latin: Smyrna) is a large metropolis in the western extremity of Anatolia and the third most populous city inTurkey. Izmir's metropolitan area extends along the outlying waters of the Gulf of Izmir and inland to the north across Gediz River's delta, to the east along an alluvial plain created by several small streams and to a slightly more rugged terrain in the south. The ancient city was known as Smyrna, and the city was generally referred to as Smyrna in English, until the Turkish Postal Service Law of 28 March 1930 made "Izmir" the internationally recognized name.

The city of Izmir is composed of several metropolitan districts. Of these, Konak district corresponds to historical Izmir, this district's area having constituted the "Izmir Municipality" area until 1984, Konak until then having been a name for a central neighborhood around Konak Square, still the core of the city. With the constitution of the "Greater Izmir Metropolitan Municipality), the city of Izmir became a compound bringing together initially nine, and more recently eleven metropolitan districts such as Bayrakli, Balcova, Bornova, Karşiyaka, etc. Almost all of these settlements are former district centers or neighborhoods which stood on their own, with their own distinct features and temperament.

Izmir is also very popular as being the closest city to ancient the sites Ephesus, Pergamon and holiday destination Kusadasi is preferably choosen by holiday lovers or inquisitive people to perform their landing to Adnan Menderes Airport to reach their targets rather soon.